Site icon Grasswire

US sanctions eight additional Venezuelan officials

The U.S. Treasury Department announced on Wednesday, August 9, it was sanctioning eight Venezuelan government and military officials, adding to a growing list of individuals.

Six of the officials are newly-elected members of the constituent assembly, also known by its Spanish acronym ANC.

On July 26, the Treasury Department announced sanctions against 13 officials ahead of the constituent assembly vote, which the Trump administration had said it viewed as making Venezuela into a dictatorship.

Venezuelan President Nicolás Maduro was sanctioned the day after the July 30 vote, making him the fourth head of state to be sanctioned by the U.S.

The newly-constructed constituent assembly is tasked with rewriting the country’s 18-year-old constitution. It’s been criticized by several regional governments, with many saying they refuse to recognize the ANC.

The ANC also approved a decree on Tuesday, August 8, that gives itself power over other branches of government in Venezuela, including the opposition-controlled National Assembly.

Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control released the names of those added to the list of sanctions:

US sanctions 13 Venezuelan officials ahead of Constituent Assembly election

Exit mobile version